The joy of Eastertide

IMG_1857

The days of Easter have been full ones with feasting and guests, cooking and decorating. I scrounged around for the Alleluia to put in a place of prominence in front of the lily and hyacinths after coming home from the Easter Vigil.  It is just a stained piece of wood with a section of an Easter card glued onto the front. Simple but beautiful.

To help make Lent real for Tim we “buried” the Alleluia on Ash Wednesday and then “resurrected” it after the Easter Vigil. So, in addition to the liturgical significance it is a sweet reminder of Tim and the days when he and his brothers were all around the table.

The whole Triduum, but especially the liturgy of Holy Saturday, has become an experience that I treasure more and more with each year that passes. This time it was the singing of the Exultet that gripped me around the heart. Our Polish priest sang in the darkened church, his accent giving the chant almost a Middle-Eastern sounding emphasis, his words slow and distinct so we could grasp each one as it was intoned.

Exult, let them exult, the hosts of heaven, exult, let Angel ministers of God exult, let the trumpet of salvation sound aloud our mighty King’s triumph! Be glad, let the earth be glad, as glory floods her, ablaze with light from her eternal King, let all corners of the earth be glad, knowing an end to gloom and darkness.

How can one hang onto even a thread of sadness when, with candles held aloft, we are so encouraged? I remember the first Vigil after Tim’s death and the great surge of joy I felt as the first Alleluia was sung and I felt his presence beside me singing out his Alleluia. How could it not be a night of joy when

The sanctifying power of this night dispels wickedness, washes faults away, restores innocence to the fallen, and joy to mourners…

The octave is past now but we have the whole of Eastertide to bring our gift of joy to the Lord. So may we all put aside the gloom and sadness and revel in the glory of the Risen Christ.

Happy Easter

Happy Easter

Alleluia!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The joy of Eastertide

  1. littlesoul2 says:

    Cindy, what a great picture! And, what a beautiful idea to bury, and then “resurrect” the Alleulia sign.

    Did you get the e-mail I sent a few days ago? I hate to ask, but e-mails both going and coming don’t always seem to make it from my yahoo account. And, there is no way I ever know without asking. In case you didn’t get it, I wrote to tell you how much I’m enjoying your wonderful book. It is a joy, and filled with peace! Happy Easter season!

    • cinamonty says:

      Good morning, Patricia!

      I got the email you sent and have been waiting for a nice piece of uninterrupted time in which to reply…so look for that in the near future! It was such a beautiful “letter” that I didn’t want to pass it over lightly.

      I am manning a book table today at a Catholic Women’s conference so have been all out getting ready for that AND two family birthdays this week, so you can imagine things around here.

      I so look forward to responding in a proper way.

      In Carmel,

      • littlesoul2 says:

        Thanks, Cindy! I wasn’t expecting a long response, etc. You would not believe how many problems I have with e-mails related to that address. Mary, at The Beautiful Gate, couldn’t reach me there at all, until I wrote to her first. Go figure!

        Hope you sell lots of books today! That sounds like fun…manning a table at the Catholic Women’s conference. If you’re like me, you’ll be wandering past the other tables and going home with more books than you can read in a year..LOL!

        Please don’t be a bit concerned about replying. I just wanted you to know that I LOVE YOUR BOOK! 🙂

  2. Nancy says:

    I just found your blog after seeing signs of your book around. I love it “here” at the blog, feel immediately at home, and signed up to follow by e-mail. I am writing rather breathlessly after reading that you only had to drive half an hour to get to the Visitation Monastery in Tyringham!!!??!! O my! Such a large chunk of my “cloistered heart” heart lives right there, in that very monastery. So now I feel even more at home, and hope you don’t mind if I hang around here for awhile :)! I don’t see an e-mail address for you, but mine is on the sidebars of my 2 blogs (which should show up with my name here?). If you’d ever care to drop me one line there, I will drop you three and a half back. :)….

    Blessings! Now I’m off to look up your book…..

    Nancy S

Leave a Reply

